Skip to content
1abel

1abelMadewell · Alternatives

Brands like Madewell, compared one jean at a time.

If you like Madewell for jeans, start with the detail you want to change: stretch or rigid fabric, denim weight, selvedge, how the leg is cut, or what you pay. A heavier or stiffer denim is not automatically the right one for you. Use the named models and their original sources below, then compare garment measurements.

1abel is a Melbourne label: one 22-piece system, one release a year. Capsule 3 opens Nov 11, 2026, and until then the shop is waitlist-only.

Capsule 3 opens Nov 11. Get the email when it does.

This guide uses one reference: the Madewell men's 1991 Straight-Leg Jean in Banwell Wash. Its official US page lists 72% cotton, 27% lyocell and 1% elastane in a 12.5 oz denim with a straight fit, an 11 1/2 inch rise and a zip fly, at $148 USD. The four alternatives are the Buck Mason Japanese Denim Ford Standard Jean, the A.P.C. Petit New Standard, the Nudie Jeans Gritty Jackson Dry Selvage and the 1ABEL Denim. Each row names one product, because fabric and fit change from model to model inside every brand.

Published by 1abel. We sell one of these alternatives; this is a comparison of published specifications, not an independent wear test. Sources and listed prices were checked on 13 October 2026. Prices stay in the currency each official page lists, exclude delivery and possible taxes, and are not converted or ranked. Our own details are catalog specifications. 1ABEL is currently waitlist-only until Capsule 3 opens on 11.11.2026.

1ABEL Denim in raw indigo, catalog product imageSee the 22 pieces

The short version

  1. Reference model, Madewell 1991 Straight-Leg Jean in Banwell Wash

    The US page lists 72% cotton, 27% lyocell and 1% elastane, labels the fabric Comfort Stretch and gives a weight of 12.5 oz. It describes a straight fit that is relaxed through the hip and thigh, an 11 1/2 inch rise, a 15 1/2 inch leg opening and a zip fly. The page says Imported and does not name a country. Listed price: $148 USD, with no struck-through price beside it.

  2. Madewell sells more than one denim under the same cut. The 1991 Straight-Leg Jean in Japanese Selvedge, Lamina Wash, lists 100% cotton rigid selvedge denim from the Kaihara mill at 15 oz, with a button fly and the same stated rise and leg opening, at $228 USD. A 30% promotional code was displayed on that listing on the check date. Check the exact wash you want.

  3. Buck Mason Japanese Denim Ford Standard Jean, colourway B007

    Buck Mason lists a mid-rise 13.25 oz Japanese denim from Kaihara mills in 99% cotton and 1% polyurethane, rinsed, with a hint of stretch. The fit is described as easy and straight through the hip, tapered at the leg, with a button fly. Listed price: $198 USD. The pages we read do not state selvedge or a country of manufacture for the jean.

  4. A.P.C. Petit New Standard in Raw Indigo

    The US page lists 100% cotton rigid Japanese denim, made in Vietnam, and titles the product as Japanese raw selvedge denim. It describes a slim tapered fit with a mid-rise, a fitted leg and a button fly, and suggests you may need one size up. Listed price: $340 USD. The page does not publish a denim weight, so we have not assigned one.

  5. Nudie Jeans Gritty Jackson Dry Selvage

    The US page lists organic cotton 13.75 oz rigid Japanese selvedge denim, 100% cotton, made in Italy. It describes a regular fit with a mid waist, a straight leg and a regular leg opening, a zip fly, orange back pocket embroidery and a jacron patch. Listed price: $280 USD. The care notes on the page say the fabric may shrink up to 3%.

  6. 1ABEL Denim in Raw

    Our catalog lists 14oz raw selvedge denim, Japan (denim) · Portugal (cut & sew), and waist sizes 28, 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 at $185 USD. The fit line reads: Mid-rise, straight through the thigh, gentle taper to the ankle. Hidden rivets at the back pocket, copper rivets at stress points. Five-pocket construction with selvedge inseam visible at the hem cuff. These are our own declared specifications. The catalog record does not list a fibre percentage. You cannot buy it today: it is open for waitlist interest only.

  7. Read the weights as a spread, not a score. The published figures run from 12.5 oz (Madewell, Banwell Wash) through 13.25 oz (Buck Mason) and 13.75 oz (Nudie Jeans) to 14 oz (1ABEL), with no figure from A.P.C. Weight describes fabric mass per area. It does not tell you how a jean will fit, soften or last.

  8. Stretch is the clearest published difference. The Madewell reference and the Buck Mason jean list elastane or polyurethane, while the A.P.C. and Nudie listings state 100% cotton rigid denim. Compare fit with measurements: lay a pair you already like flat and note waist, front rise, thigh, inseam and leg opening.

At a glance

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

One Madewell reference jean and four alternatives. Published specifications and original-currency listed prices checked 13 October 2026; not a wear test or a ranking.
ModelPublished fabric and weightRise and leg as describedSelvedge and origin statedListed price
Madewell 1991 Straight-Leg Jean · Banwell Wash12.5 oz; 72% cotton, 27% lyocell, 1% elastane11 1/2 inch rise; straight leg, relaxed hip and thigh; zip flySelvedge not stated; Imported$148 USD
Buck Mason Japanese Denim Ford Standard Jean · B00713.25 oz; 99% cotton, 1% polyurethaneMid-rise; straight through the hip, tapered leg; button flySelvedge not stated; Japanese denim from Kaihara mills$198 USD
A.P.C. Petit New Standard · Raw Indigo100% cotton rigid denim; weight not publishedMid-rise; slim tapered fit, fitted leg; button flyRaw selvedge in the page title; Japanese material, made in Vietnam$340 USD
Nudie Jeans Gritty Jackson Dry Selvage13.75 oz; organic cotton, 100% cotton, rigidMid waist; regular fit, straight leg; zip flyJapanese selvedge denim; made in Italy$280 USD
1ABEL Denim · Raw14oz raw selvedge denimMid-rise, straight through the thigh, gentle taper to the ankleJapan (denim) · Portugal (cut & sew)$185 USD · waitlist

— Capsule 3 · opens Nov 11, 2026

Get the email when Capsule 3 opens.

One release a year. 22 pieces in 10 colors that all pair. Doors open Nov 11 at 12 pm New York, 5 pm London.

No payment and no order. One email when it opens, plus the occasional studio note.

Keep reading

Questions people ask

What brands are like Madewell?

This guide compares four through one jean each: Buck Mason, A.P.C., Nudie Jeans and 1ABEL. The overlap is partial. All five are named jeans with a straight or tapered leg, but the published fibre content, stretch, weight, leg shape, country of manufacture and listed price differ from one model to the next.

Which brands sell jeans comparable to Madewell?

On published specifications, the Buck Mason Ford Standard Jean sits closest to the Madewell reference: both list a straight fit through the hip and a small stretch content, at 13.25 oz and 12.5 oz. The A.P.C. and Nudie Jeans models are rigid 100% cotton selvedge denim, which is nearer to the Madewell Japanese Selvedge version of the same cut. This describes listings, not market position.

Is Madewell considered high end?

We can only give you listed prices. On 13 October 2026 the Madewell US site listed the 1991 Straight-Leg Jean at $148 USD in Banwell Wash and $228 USD in Japanese Selvedge. The other jeans in this guide were listed at $198 USD (Buck Mason), $280 USD (Nudie Jeans) and $340 USD (A.P.C.). Where that places Madewell is your call.

Is Madewell higher quality than J.Crew?

We do not give a verdict, and a product listing cannot settle it. What you can compare between two listings is fibre content, denim weight in ounces, whether selvedge is stated, the fly, the stated country of manufacture and the price. Read both pages for the exact wash you want, then compare the garments in hand if you can.

What are some stores similar to Madewell for men?

Buck Mason and A.P.C. each list the jean checked here in a men's jeans section on their own US site, and Nudie Jeans sizes the Gritty Jackson by waist and length. All three listed USD prices on 13 October 2026. 1ABEL is waitlist-only for now, so there is nothing to order yet.

Are Madewell men's jeans selvedge?

It depends on the model. The Banwell Wash listing does not mention selvedge and lists a cotton, lyocell and elastane blend. The 1991 Straight-Leg Jean in Japanese Selvedge lists 100% cotton rigid selvedge denim from the Kaihara mill at 15 oz. Both facts come from the Madewell US product pages on 13 October 2026.

Is there a Madewell jeans dupe?

These are distinct products from different brands. A similar weight or a straight leg does not establish matching measurements, feel or wear. Decide which detail you want to keep or change, such as stretch, rise or selvedge, then inspect the exact garment.

How does the 1ABEL Denim compare with the Madewell jean?

On published specifications only: our catalog lists 14oz raw selvedge denim at $185 USD, and the Madewell reference lists a 12.5 oz cotton, lyocell and elastane blend at $148 USD. Our catalog figure is the heavier one and the Madewell fabric is the one with stated stretch. Neither number shows how a jean fits or lasts. The 1ABEL Denim is waitlist-only until Capsule 3 opens on 11.11.2026; joining the waitlist does not place an order.

From the journal

Sources

Capsule 3Shop the systemTwenty-two pieces, with product-specific materials, sizes and color options.Browse the shop11.11.26Join the waitlistOne pressing a year. Save your bag preferences; joining does not reserve stock or place an order.Join the waitlistThe brandThe full storyWhy we press once a year. How the system works. What's next.Read the story